June Callwood Award Recipents

June Callwood Circle of Outstanding Volunteer Award

Pictured: L-R, Jane Weiland, Hospice Huntsville Program Coordinator & Isobel Hampton

Hospice Huntsville is pleased to share that volunteer Isobel Hampton has been awarded the 2021 June Callwood Circle of Outstanding Volunteer Award.

Isobel has been a Volunteer Visitor at Hospice Huntsville since 2009. She provides dedicated, compassionate support to the people and families she is matched with. Isobel has been willing to take on unique support situations and is able to adapt to the challenges. She is a wonderful advocate, creative problem solver, has a positive attitude and a gentle gift of humour. Isobel appreciates a person’s life story, approaching where the person is, in a non-judgmental and supportive manner.

Isobel is a strong champion of Hospice Huntsville services in our community and is committed to being the best she can be each time she acts on our behalf.

Isobel’s positive energy and joy enrich people’s lives.


The June Callwood Award was established in 1994 by the Hospice Association of Ontario, joined in 2011 with Ontario Palliative Care Association to form Hospice Palliative Care Ontario (HPCO), to acknowledge and thank outstanding hospice volunteers throughout our province.  The award was named in honour of the late June Callwood, the Award Patron, and long time advocate of hospice, community activist, author and recipient of the Order of Canada. June was the inaugural recipient of of award since then, 855 hospice volunteers have been inducted into the Circle of Outstanding Volunteers.  She has touched the lives of generations of Canadians by giving that passion expression through her words and through her work in the service of those in need.
Each hospice in Ontario that is a HPCO organizational member is invited to nominate one volunteer from within their organization who exemplifies the spirit of hospice volunteerism.

Congratulations Isobel!